“Dragon Ball Kai Song Collection” CD Full Details
Published by 17 September 2009, 9:30 PM EDT

At the end of August we learned that we would be getting another new CD, something called the Dragon Ball Kai Song Collection. The album is due out 21 October 2009 for ¥2,940 (~$30). At the time we only had a vague idea of what would be on the album, including the opening and ending themes, the insert song “Over the Star”, and new character image songs such as a theme for Kuririn, a theme for Freeza, and a theme for Super Saiyans. However, Columbia recently released the finalized track list and cover art for the album:

 01 Dragon Soul / Takayoshi Tanimoto (Dragon Soul)
 02 CHASER! / Shinichi Sakurai
 03 Win Tough Fight! / Yō Yamazaki
 04 The Invincible Aura’s Energy / Dragon Soul
 05 Take the Stage!! Ginyu Special-Squad!! / Yō Yamazaki
 06 Over the Star / Saki Oshitani
 07 CURE ~I’ll Be Here~ / Dende (Aya Hirano)
 08 Saiyan Blood / Vegeta (Ryō Horikawa)
 09 An Ultra-super Dragon Soul / Takayoshi Tanimoto (Dragon Soul)
 10 Only a Chilling Elegy / H.E. DEMON
 11 Yeah! Break! Care! Break! / Takayoshi Tanimoto (Dragon Soul)

You will note there are quite a few newcomers to the Dragon Ball franchise, such as Shinichi Sakurai, YouYamazaki, Aya Hirano, and H.E. Demon. I know many have commented on the “stunt casting” of Aya Hirano as Dende in the series (I tend to agree with most of them), but I think H.E. Demon, or rather His Excellency Demon Kakka, is by far and away the most interesting one of the bunch. If you have a chance, I highly suggest you give his profile a read — you will not regret it!

Many of the tracks are new character image songs, but it is not very clear which one may belong to Kuririn, Freeza, and/or the Super Saiyans. However, using the process of elimination we can see they might be “CHASER!”, “Only a Chilling Elegy” and “An Ultra-Super Dragon Soul”. Besides these new image songs, the only other track that we have not seen yet is “Win Tough Fight!”, which was indeed on the first Original Soundtrack for the series, but was included there as guitar version by Kenji Yamamoto. Oddly enough, the song itself has not been used in the TV series as of yet, but already has multiple versions. Could this be a little foreshadowing of another insert song? We will just have to wait to find out.

Share This Post

Write a Reply or Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.