Does anyone TRAIN in real life?

Discussion regarding the entirety of the franchise in a general (meta) sense, including such aspects as: production, trends, merchandise, fan culture, and more.

Moderators: General Help, Kanzenshuu Staff

Questrider
Beyond Newbie

Does anyone TRAIN in real life?

Post by Questrider » Mon Dec 13, 2010 2:33 pm

Just curious.

I know we all love DBZ but was anyone else influenced enough to learn martial arts, whether it be Taekwondo, Judo, etc?

I started training in Taekwondo in mid-July and have been going 3 nights a week ever since. I am now getting ready to test for my high gold belt and in March, I'll be testing for my green.

My interest in Taekwondo came from my love of DBZ and simply wanting a better understanding of the martial arts in general. Granted, a lot of the fighting we see in DBZ is lighting fast and while I'll never be able to go "Super Saiyan", I am still having the time of my life simply learning.

Anyone else out there train?
-Questrider

Great Saiyaman I
Regular

Re: Does anyone TRAIN in real life?

Post by Great Saiyaman I » Mon Dec 13, 2010 2:40 pm

I know Kendamu trains a lot. He has a Dragon Ball/martial arts website.
-The Great Saiyaman
Herms wrote:
Nex Carnifex wrote:Herms can you translate the whole thing
No.

linkdude20002001
I Live Here

Post by linkdude20002001 » Mon Dec 13, 2010 2:48 pm

Doesn't Gokuh use something more like kung fu?
The Many English Dubs of DB, DBZ, and DBGT
Viz Release Censorship Guide

Scsigs: "Y'know, it actually makes sense that they waited till today to announce [the 30th Anniversary] set. It's Akira Toriyama's birthday."
Shaddy: "I too want my legacy destroyed as a birthday gift."

Kendamu
Born 'n Bred Here

Post by Kendamu » Mon Dec 13, 2010 2:53 pm

I train! I also run http://www.sparkingturtle.com/

Really, though, it seems that the "martial artists who also really like Dragonall" fanbase is super small.
(they/she)

My Martial Arts Website -- https://mybudo.carrd.co