Does anyone read Dragon Ball in Japanese?

Discussion regarding the entirety of the franchise in a general (meta) sense, including such aspects as: production, trends, merchandise, fan culture, and more.

Moderators: General Help, Kanzenshuu Staff

kemuri07
Advanced Regular

Does anyone read Dragon Ball in Japanese?

Post by kemuri07 » Sun Jul 11, 2021 11:48 am

So I've been studying Japanese for approximately three years, and I'm at a point where I can read certain manga and understand about 70-80% what I'm reading. I've been collecting some DB books at a japanese book store near me, and it's kinda fun being able to read it "in the way it was meant to be read" (lol). So does anyone else do this?

TheGreatness25
I Live Here

Re: Does anyone read Dragon Ball in Japanese?

Post by TheGreatness25 » Sun Jul 11, 2021 12:23 pm

I wish I understood that much. So far, I can read the Hiragana and Katakana -- and thankfully, the Kanji is broken down into the Hiragana/Katakana spellings. So, I've tried tossing it into Google Translate and surprise, surprise, it's gibberish. So, I need to really actually learn Japanese to accomplish this.

I feel like the lack of spaces between words will trip me up even if I knew what I was actually reading.

kemuri07
Advanced Regular

Post by kemuri07 » Sun Jul 11, 2021 12:52 pm

TheGreatness25 wrote: Sun Jul 11, 2021 12:23 pm I wish I understood that much. So far, I can read the Hiragana and Katakana -- and thankfully, the Kanji is broken down into the Hiragana/Katakana spellings. So, I've tried tossing it into Google Translate and surprise, surprise, it's gibberish. So, I need to really actually learn Japanese to accomplish this.

I feel like the lack of spaces between words will trip me up even if I knew what I was actually reading.
You get used to it. It's now not really a problem for me.