Manga Guide

Dragon Ball Chapter 190

Tankōbon Title Page
Tankōbon Title Page
Kanzenban Title Page
Kanzenban Title Page
Full Color Title Page
Full Color Title Page


Funbare!! Son Gokū

Stand Firm, Son Goku!!

Chapter Information

Premiered: 30 August 1988 (Weekly Shōnen Jump 1988 #40)
Corresponding: Dragon Ball Episode 147, “It’s All Over!!”

  • Digital Monochrome Edition Volume 16 (12 October 2012)

Chapter Synopsis

Piccolo keeps powering up, and Goku thinks he’s never felt a ki this incredible before. Goku yells at everyone to get on a plane and leave the island, and everyone wonders what he plans on doing. Goku says he’s going to withstand this, as Piccolo continues his massive power up. Then there’s no time left for them to get away, so Tenshinhan fires a Kikōhō at the ground, creating a big hole for everyone to hide in.

Everyone runs in, except God, but Lunch gets pissed and kicks him in anyway. Goku charges up to withstand it and Piccolo finally unleashes an incredible shockwave, causing a huge explosion, and busting up the entire island. Papaya Island is but a wasteland now, with the tiles from the ring all gone, and Piccolo thinks he’s won. But, Goku’s still standing as well, hardly damaged, and everyone climbs out of the hole and cheers for him.

Chapter Notes

  • Each issue of Weekly Shōnen Jump features short comments from the various series’ authors, giving fans a brief insight into their current thoughts, ranging from series-related announcements to trivial happenings in their personal lives. Akira Toriyama’s comments from this issue were:


    I relaxed on our first family trip in a while. I saw the sea, and bathed in a hot spring; it was a nice day off. <Akira>

Page Breakdown

The majority of the Dragon Ball series was drawn in black and white, but chapters were occasionally published with color pages. This breakdown notes how many full-color, limited-color, and black-and-white pages appeared in this chapter. As the tankōbon volumes were not released with these colors intact, any color pages shown are taken from the kanzenban release.