Manga Guide

Dragon Ball Volume 28

Original Version (1991)      Refreshed Version (2009)


Mirai kara Kita Shōnen

The Boy From the Future

General Information

First Release: 08 November 1991 (print edition)
12 October 2012 (digital edition)
Retail: ¥379 + 3% tax (initial print edition)
¥400 + 5% tax (current print edition, since May 2009)
¥350 + 5% tax (digital edition)
Publisher: Shueisha
Size / Pages: New Book Format (11 × 17 cm) / 192 pages
Catalog No.: ISBN 4-08-851418-1


The volume’s introduction from author Akira Toriyama is printed on the front flap of the dust cover and accompanied by a small color illustration.

I can’t just sit around and do nothing. I never feel comfortable if I’m not completely absorbed in something. Just like how sharks will die if they stop swimming. Anything is fine, no matter how pointless, but I have to be completely absorbed. Because of this, though, when there isn’t anything I want to do, I get really fidgety and pace around the room…. It’d be nice if “work” was one of those things I could absorb myself in, as well….


This volume compiles chapters 326 to 337 as originally serialized in Weekly Shōnen Jump, covering issues 1991 #25 to 1991 #36/37. All chapter title pages shown below are those included in this volume. The chapter premiere dates listed below are based on the sale date of their respective issue of Weekly Shōnen Jump, which is when that issue officially went on sale.

Chapters (326 – 337)

Munashī Ketchaku
An Empty Conclusion
28 May 1991
Weekly Shōnen Jump 1991 #25
Subete no Owari
The End of It All
04 June 1991
Weekly Shōnen Jump 1991 #26
ナメック星 消ゆ
Namekku-sei Kiyu
Planet Namek Fades Out
11 June 1991
Weekly Shōnen Jump 1991 #27
Kaeranai Gokū
Goku Won’t Be Coming Home
18 June 1991
Weekly Shōnen Jump 1991 #28
Furīza Oyako Chikyū ni Oritatsu
Freeza and his Father Descend to Earth
25 June 1991
Weekly Shōnen Jump 1991 #29
Nazo no Shōnen
The Mysterious Boy
02 July 1991
Weekly Shōnen Jump 1991 #30
Futarime no Sūpā Saiya-jin
A Second Super Saiyan
09 July 1991
Weekly Shōnen Jump 1991 #31
Kaette Kita Son Gokū
Son Goku Comes Home
16 July 1991
Weekly Shōnen Jump 1991 #32
Mirai kara Kita Shōnen
The Boy From the Future
23 July 1991
Weekly Shōnen Jump 1991 #33
Kyōfu no Messeiji
A Message of Terror
30 July 1991
Weekly Shōnen Jump 1991 #34
San-Nengo no Kake
A Three Year Gamble
06 August 1991
Weekly Shōnen Jump 1991 #35
Tsudō Sūpā Senshi-tachi
The Super Warriors Assemble
13 August 1991
Weekly Shōnen Jump 1991 #36/37

Title Page Special Feature

As the tankōbon are compilations of pre-existing chapters, they are intended to be continuously read from beginning to end. Often times, any title pages not considered integral to the story, or due to page count issues between chapters, were moved to the back of the volume and collected in a special gallery following the volume’s final chapter. The gallery notes the title pages are “as they appeared in Weekly Shōnen Jump“, which include the original tag lines and “Bird Studio” logo. These features are typically removed from the title pages remaining in the volume’s main content.


  • No chapter title pages were omitted from this volume.

Supplemental Images

The following supplemental images are included in this volume and are original illustrations drawn by Akira Toriyama exclusively for this tankōbon volume:

Staff Credits

Note that the publisher credited varies by print edition based on the staff at Shueisha at the time of its printing. The publisher listed below coincides with this volume’s first edition printing.



鳥山 明

Akira Toriyama




Home-sha Co., Ltd.




Naoyoshi Taniyama


Publishing House

株式会社 集英社

Shueisha Co., Ltd.


Printing House


Bishōdo Printing Co., Ltd.


Chuo Seihan Printing Co., Ltd.