"Mafuba" and "Denshi Jar"

Help the Kanzenshuu staff beta-test new sections, new website initiatives, and more!

Moderators: General Help, Kanzenshuu Staff

VegettoEX
Kanzenshuu Co-Owner & Administrator

"Mafuba" and "Denshi Jar"

Post by VegettoEX » Sun May 30, 2004 12:28 pm

An "Ask" came up pondering the meanings of "Mafuba" and "Denshi." Julian's not around this weekend (as far as I know), soooo... Rach, Steve... anyone who's around... wanna help me out?

I mean, I know the very BASIC meanings of the words, but I'm no expert in explaining things.
:: [| Mike "VegettoEX" LaBrie |] ::
:: [| Kanzenshuu - Co-Founder/Administrator, Podcast Host, News Manager (note: our "job" titles are arbitrary and meaningless) |] ::
:: [| Website: January 1998 |] :: [| Podcast: November 2005 |] :: [| Fusion: April 2012 |] :: [| Wiki: 20XX |] ::

TripleRach

Post by TripleRach » Sun May 30, 2004 2:55 pm

Mafuuba consists of ma (demon/evil/magic), fuu (seal away/contain), and ba (wave). Add it all up, and you get something like "Demon Containment Wave". For what it's worth, the ba in Mafuuba is the same as the ha in Kamehameha, and the pa in Dodonpa.

Denshi just means "electron", but when paired with another word, it becomes "electronic". There is probably some significance to calling it an "Electronic Jar", but personally, I don't quite understand the relevance. Maybe Steve or Julian would know.

Hope that is helpful enough. :D

Daimao
Mr. Subtitles

Post by Daimao » Sun May 30, 2004 10:58 pm

TripleRach wrote:Mafuuba consists of ma (demon/evil/magic), fuu (seal away/contain), and ba (wave). Add it all up, and you get something like "Demon Containment Wave". For what it's worth, the ba in Mafuuba is the same as the ha in Kamehameha, and the pa in Dodonpa.