Does Cell say "Holy Shit" in the Japanese version?

Discussion, generally of an in-universe nature, regarding any aspect of the franchise (including movies, spin-offs, etc.) such as: techniques, character relationships, internal back-history, its universe, and more.

Moderators: General Help, Kanzenshuu Staff

DBHighDefinition
Regular

Does Cell say "Holy Shit" in the Japanese version?

Post by DBHighDefinition » Mon Jan 19, 2009 10:40 am

This is something that's really been bothering me, but on the new Remastered sets, Daimao's subs say "H- holy s-!" when Cell reacts to Vegeta's Final Flash. Now, i'm no expert in Japanese, but it seems to me that Cell doesn't stutter when saying it...leading me to wonder if FUNi asked Daimao not to put "Holy Shit". Is this correct, or am I getting a bit paranoid here. :o
[quote="Roshi in DB Evolution"]Believe it punk, you're getting your clock, cleaned![/quote]

[url=http://www.youtube.com/user/DBHighDef]My old YouTube is back up and running![/url]

B
Born 'n Bred Here

Post by B » Mon Jan 19, 2009 10:48 am

Y'know, I saw someone edit that scene in the dub where he says "OH SHIT" as opposed to whatever Dameon Clarke actually says. Maybe he does say it.

Also, on the subject of the word, I remember watching fansubs of Sonic X, which is based on the Sonic the Hedgehog games, where Sonic actually says "shit," and the subtitles say it too, making me think there isn't a Japanese word "equivalent" to "shit."

What did it sound like Cell was saying?
Keen Observation of Dragon Ball Z Movie 4's Climax wrote:Slug shits to see the genki

DBHighDefinition
Regular

Post by DBHighDefinition » Mon Jan 19, 2009 10:50 am

He kinda says "S- SHUT!!"
[quote="Roshi in DB Evolution"]Believe it punk, you're getting your clock, cleaned![/quote]

[url=http://www.youtube.com/user/DBHighDef]My old YouTube is back up and running![/url]

B
Born 'n Bred Here

Post by B » Mon Jan 19, 2009 10:52 am

I call censorship on FUNimation's part then.