Goku speaks "Yakuza-Gangster" Japanese? What?

Discussion regarding the entirety of the franchise in a general (meta) sense, including such aspects as: production, trends, merchandise, fan culture, and more.

Moderators: General Help, Kanzenshuu Staff

foxfang4
Beyond Newbie

Goku speaks "Yakuza-Gangster" Japanese? What?

Post by foxfang4 » Tue Apr 15, 2014 5:15 pm

Hi guys. I rarely post year (long time reader), but today had an experience that I think deserves a thread. Because my mind was pretty much blown today.
__________________________________________________________________________________

I work as a substitute teacher. Today, I went to teach a grade 5 class. I met a kid who I later found out was a) half-Japanese, b) spoke Japanese fluently, and c) Was raised there until grade 3. So, he seemed pretty legit.
When I commented that I had heard (for years) that Goku was supposed to sound like a "hick/hillbilly" in Japanese, he answered: "Not at all. He speaks Yakuza Japanese." "What?" "Yeah...like he talks like a gangster. That's what makes him so funny." He explained that, in Japanese, Goku pretty much talks completely in that type of slang ("Yo pops"). I told him that for years I've read (on forums) or heard from 1 friend who studied Japanese, that Goku's supposed to be a "hick". He was adamant. "Trust me. I'm Japanese. I know all the accents. Goku's appeal is that he talks like a Yakuza gangster around people...not even close to a "hillbilly"."

Can anyone confirm this for me? My entire lifetime's image of Goku completely changed when I heard that. Honestly, it made the character 50x times cooler for me. :lol: If this is true, then the English dub Goku isn't even close to the original one.
Last edited by foxfang4 on Tue Apr 15, 2014 5:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DarkPrince_92
I Live Here

Re: Goku speaks "Yakuza-Gangster" Japanese? What?

Post by DarkPrince_92 » Tue Apr 15, 2014 5:24 pm