Spotting Dragonball CD bootlegs

Discussion regarding any musical aspect of the franchise, from game soundtracks to BGM to remixes. Upcoming & classic CDs, reviews, where to find them, and more!

Moderators: General Help, Kanzenshuu Staff

SsjRavi
Patreon Supporter

Spotting Dragonball CD bootlegs

Post by SsjRavi » Sun Oct 16, 2011 8:41 pm

I am new to buying dragonball cds and cannot yet tell the difference between boolegs and the genuine cds.
I found some cheap cds on the internet and have become suspicous of it despite the description claiming they are genuine copies mainly because i saw the "SM" logo in the top corner of the case, i came here for some advice.

This is the picture provided with the product for DragonBall Z Hit Song Collection 13 - Battle & Hope:
http://i819.photobucket.com/albums/zz11 ... K60_12.jpg

And this is a scan i found for a different copy:
http://i819.photobucket.com/albums/zz11 ... ortada.jpg

I also found this cd from the same seller:
http://i819.photobucket.com/albums/zz11 ... w60_12.jpg

Any extra advice on spotting bootlegs would be much appreciated.
"No. A sword is a weapon. Kenjutsu is the art of killing. Whatever pretty words you use to speak of it, this is its true nature. What Miss Kaoru says are the words of one who has never dirtied her hands. An idealistic joke. But, I like Miss Kaoru's idealism better than its true nature. If one can ask so much, I want the world to accept this joke as its true nature."
- Himura Kenshin

Li'l Lemmy
I Live Here

Re: Spotting Dragonball CD bootlegs

Post by Li'l Lemmy » Sun Oct 16, 2011 10:49 pm

Yes, this is a bootleg. Any CD with the initials SM should be an instant red flag.

SM (as seen here by this distinctive logo) stands for SonMay Records, and anything DragonBall with their name on it is most definitely bootleg. Beware also of other companies like EverAnime (logo here) and Smile Face.