I use Dragon Ball as a Teacher

Discussion regarding the entirety of the franchise in a general (meta) sense, including such aspects as: production, trends, merchandise, fan culture, and more.

Moderators: General Help, Kanzenshuu Staff

foxfang4
Beyond Newbie

I use Dragon Ball as a Teacher

Post by foxfang4 » Thu Oct 03, 2019 8:53 pm

I remember loving Dragon Ball as a teenager. It actually helped me tremendously through a period where I was suffering through a pretty deep depression. In my early 20s, I I got a chance to watch the series in Japanese and I was actually impressed with how much it spoke to me as an adult. I felt, at its core, Dragon Ball understood concepts relating to masculinity, perseverance, determination, respect, and a sense of self-actualization. Flash forward to my early 30s, and I'm a Teacher; often teaching students from a fringe behavioural program integrated into my classrooms. I decided that I needed to implement more media into my class to help the students with their alienation and so that people could get to know one another. Well, I started to share things that I loved: namely Dragon Ball. To tell you the truth, it's impacted students in a very positive way; more than I could have predicted. Students in the behavioural program (who are integrated into my classes) have a lot of issues. They're usually on heavy medication, from broken families and are considered be very emotionally unstable. I realized that Dragon Ball is a tremendously empowering show. Students who seemed depressed and frustrated for months on end, suddenly seemed so full of energy, seemingly determined to meet their daily challenges. Some of them have gotten really into Naruto since then (our school library, by some fluke, has a ton of Naruto manga). Anyways, I just wanted to share that. It kind of blows my mind, that a series that is this old can have such an impact on a new generation; more so than most anime/manga that they were into prior to being introduced to D